You know how the newer toilets have that cool “double flush” feature, where there’s a flush for #1 and a flush for #2? Pretty cool, huh?

Well I thought it was even cooler when my friends over at Young House Love told us that any toilet could be converted to a fancy “double flush” one, for just a $20 part and a few minutes of work!

I’m actually not “green” enough to do this just for the helluvit, but that part of my toilet was already broken anyway, resulting in a not unpleasant singing sound and the toilet water running unnecessarily, and even “sneezing”. (Don’t worry- all water actually stayed inside the toilet.) Sometimes the singing and sneezing scared the guests, so I figured it was time to fix it and I might as well use the converter.

Anyway, the folks at YHL wrote a really good post alllll about it, so I’m just going to direct you over there (linked above) if you’re interested. The only real point of my post is to say that first I tried to find it at Home Depot and all they had was this $40-ish other version of it. So I ordered it online (this one) for $25 (guess they raised their prices).

Then I discovered that if you have one of those ball float thingies (actual term) like this:

not my toilet

… you have to buy the “Hydro Clean” too. Whatever.

So I went back to Home Depot and I discovered that since I’d been there before (okay, so it may have been a while), they decided to start stocking the Hydro Right- for $18! Guys, I get mad when I not only pay $7 more than I should have for something, but I had to WAIT for it to show up. Then I had to buy the Hydro Clean, which was about another $11. Roar.

But now my toilet handle looks like this (sorry, I did not take a before pic- we all know what the other kind looks like):

And the inside looks like this:

Pretty high-tech, huh? And now I can choose a #1 flush or a #2 flush. Gross. Sorry. Total cost: ~$36. Too much but what do ya do. At least the toilet is silent now.

The moral of the story for you guys is- BUY THIS THING AT HOME DEPOT, NOT AMAZON if you can. Also, they say it takes 10 minutes- yeah, maybe if it’s your job to install these things all day and you don’t have to read the instructions. And the no tools part- you’ll probably want something to help you unscrew stuff. Also you have to kind of fuss with the water levels and stuff. Overall, I would call this a success and would recommend it to anyone who needs to fix their toilet anyway, or maybe a family like the Duggars whose toilet is getting used constantly.

