This weekend was weird. It was the kind of weekend where I got to the gym for my second day back at running post-surgery, realized I didn’t have my Body-Glide (otherwise my fat sweaty thighs rub together and it HURTS), and I about had a Hulk moment right there in the locker room.

It was the kind of weekend where everything seemed to take me forever- I’ve been doing the same two loads of laundry since Friday night, I swear I spent 30 minutes unloading the dishwasher, and I didn’t remember to brush my teeth until like 2pm on Friday.

As I saw my weekend-end fast approaching, I just got more discouraged. (You know when you know you’re being a baby for no reason, and then that fact makes you even more sad and pathetic, so you’re even more of a baby?) It seemed like every item on my to-do list required two people, or one person + an electrician, or one person + a Stan + an electrician… and being the disorganized person I am, I hadn’t figured out a time when Stan the Man and his dad could come over to finish those projects, so I was at a stalemate.

But then I remembered that there was a project that needed doing, but was low on the list, but was the only one I could think of to start on all by myself! And was not weather dependent! Painting the second bedroom- aka the music/sewing/craft/bike/cat/dog room.

I knew that the color in the second bedroom was kind of a challenge, because it has only one tree-shaded north-facing window. That = dark. I knew that Maria Killam and other experts recommended not trying to fight a room’s natural lighting by going with too light a color, but I just hadn’t landed on which “dark” color to pick yet.

I’m nothing if not a shameless copycat, so I totally copycatted some of my favorite dark blue colors. Of all those linked, I chose Plumage by Martha Stewart, but only because I neglected to write down the formula for Reflecting Pool that Sara so awesomeley provided, and Home Depot doesn’t have Ralph Lauren colors. Yes, that really is how decisions are made around here.

On to the fun part. I moved all the crapola to the middle of the room…

And then I cut in around the edges instead of taping which took for-ev-er. However, by the end of it I was getting the hang of it and I think I may never tape again. Maybe.

Oh! And by the way I decided to give the Behr paint+primer a go, since it’s such a dark color and I’m lazy. It worked awesome! Really good coverage. I put on two full coats, but if I’d been more diligent with the first coat, I probably could have gotten away with just spot fill-ins the second time around. TWO COATS! For a color that dark! I’m sold.

Unfortunately, you guys don’t get to see an “after” yet, because I finished at 12:15am and the lighting just doesn’t do it justice at that hour, ya know?

In other news, I finally put the last coat of poly on that TV table I built forever ago.

I guess I should explain the title of the post- after so much laying around, and a vacation to Moab (which was awesome) I was feeling seriously behind and stagnant and grumpy. I needed a big project like this that I could tackle on my own while Stan was skiing. Since I managed to finish it in a day, I’d say I got a fair amount of self-esteem out of that can of paint!

PS- Does anyone have any suggestions for a cheap but cool light fixture? The boob has got to go.

