Can I start out on the negatives today? Is that okay? Alright. You know what sucks about moving really, really far away? You can’t call your mom when you feel like it. Because when you feel like it, she’s asleep. Because it’s nighttime there. Forget getting off work and calling one of your friends or siblings to vent about the day. Because they’re all asleep!

It’s really hard moving. Yes, it’s an adventure, and every day is filled with new experiences that I don’t regret having. And we have met some really awesome people here. But I can’t seem to shake missing everything about home. I just miss it. It’s a bit of a shock realizing that life goes on when you move away: people get married, they get engaged, kids get bigger, your siblings visit your parents without you… I want to put a ban on anyone having any fun until we get back!

I called my parents the other day. It was my lunch break, so I knew it was approaching bedtime for them, but I also knew that in reality, they’d probably be up watching Hoarders or Toddlers and Tiaras. (They were up, although I’m not sure what they were watching.)

“So do you think you’ll live there forever?” asked my dad, a little too nonchalantly.

I replied, “No way! This isn’t home.”

“Well I’ve always kinda thought that… home is where you are.”

Oh, dad, with your wise words. He’s always been so adaptable and up for anything. Those words have been following me for the past week, and they’re comforting.

Home is where you are.

I guess I can live with that.

 

 

