Oh, the shower. The shower, the shower. The shower has been my biggest project to date. It has taken hours and hours of my life. It has taunted me. It has promised to be beautiful and then laughed in my face. It’s been mean to me.

The whole bathroom has actually been kind of mean to me.

I’ll back up- the first thing we did in the bathroom was take out the old scratched cast-iron tub. It could have been a cool piece of the bathroom, but I already had enough on  my plate. So Matt and Jonny somehow hoisted that thing out of there and onto the front lawn (someone picked it up within 24 hours). We removed the toilet and sink and decided to rip up the linoleum and do the floor- why not? Gotta start somewhere, right? Kind of.

Under Matt’s direction, Wendy and Stan helped me put in these neato classic old-timey tiles. Nice work everyone!

Bathroom floor

Design magazines are funny, because in one article you’ll read “Use small tiles in a small space to make it seem larger.” and in another, “Use large tiles in a small space to make it seem larger.” Sometimes they have good advice, but in the end you just have to pick what you like and make it go with the rest of the bathroom. Well, the floor was an okay place to start, but it was a little sad because when the plumbers came they found more wrong with the pipes than right, and had to do some serious finagling to fit the 5′ tub (apparently the old one was even smaller), and ended up breaking some of the tiles. The whole wall behind the sink and toilet had to come out and therefore be re-sheetrocked, and we gained about 4 inches which we sadly had not tiled.

Gutted wall

Gutted wall

Sniffle. So, the job of finishing that strip is on the list. The new tub was also wider, so the sink was hanging over it. The plumbers moved the sink, which meant they had to move the toilet, which means there is now a big hole where the toilet used to be. Sniffle. (Too depressing to take a picture.) Ah well. Live and learn. Live and learn.

Stan standing in the future tub

Stan standing in the future tub

Now we start the shower!

Matt shows me how to do wall tile

Matt shows me how to do wall tile

I'm getting the hang of it.

I'm getting the hang of it.

"Just tile up far enough so they can put the fixtures on, so you can at least take a bath for now." -good advice from Matt

"Just tile up far enough so they can put the fixtures on, so you can at least take a bath for now." -good advice from Matt

What better time than now to rip out the window?

What better time than now to rip out the window?

Oooh yeah, the glass blocks will look nice.

Oooh yeah, the glass blocks will look nice.

Before we could put in the glass block, we had to make sure the opening was level and square. This was quite the challenge, but I got lots of good help from Stan (left) and his twin brother, Duncan.

Leveling the window

Leveling the window

Gotta keep the burglars out somehow

Gotta keep the burglars out somehow

The window and one wall of tile are finished!

The window and one wall of tile are finished!

I made this cute little frame around the window with bullnose trim pieces, but then I realized that there would be too small a space between the top tile and the bottom of the trim piece for another tile, and too big a space for a big thick line of grout.

Cute frame!

Cute frame!

So I had to take off my cute frame.

Poor window frame.

Poor window frame.

But it’s okay, because I found some thicker bullnose trim pieces, and just cut them down to the right size. I took 5 hours of vacation one day to finish the tile and boy did it feel good. Jonny came and put wood trim around the whole thing to give it a more finished look. Don’t worry, plenty of caulk and paint should keep it from rotting since none of it will be directly exposed to water. Then this weekend Stan helped me grout, as well as clean the film off each tile afterward. He’s so awesome.

Shower! Done! With grout!

Shower! Done! With grout!

I just need to caulk, and then I can take a shower in my own house! Someone pinch me! Paint next weekend. Exhale.

