My elation at finishing the shower is waning… there’s still a little ways to go for the bathroom to be finished. Side note: Please don’t judge me for living in these conditions.

Jonny told me to put down some sticky plastic so we wouldn’t destroy the tile while we were working in there. I’m glad I did, but it is proving a huge pain to get it all off. Bits of dirt and grout have really ground in there, breaking the plastic, and making it so it will not peel up in one shot. Once I finally get the plastic all off, I’ll have to scrub the little sticky bits off with one of those green scratchy sponges.

Fun scrubbing

Fun scrubbing

Here’s a fun challenge. The bathroom door won’t close! They had to move the toilet over when they installed the new wider tub, but they moved it a bit too far. Not quite sure how we’re going to fix this one, since they have to work around the floor joists in the basement. The plumbers are coming Friday so hopefully they can figure something out. This is one of the reasons I haven’t had anyone over for dinner… heh heh.

Uh-oh!

Uh-oh!

Here are some sad pictures of broken tile. You can see where the toilet used to be. I’m not really sure what to do to fill in that hole. Matt suggested thinset I think. Also you can see where we gained a few inches behind the sink and toilet that was not tiled. And we so nicely cut those edge pieces, which will now have to be chipped up.

Tile needs fixin'

Tile needs fixin'

And I haven’t finished going all the way to the tub yet either.

Next to the tub

Next to the tub

And of course, I still need to paint.

Need paint

Need paint

The beadboard will be the same color as the tile (did you know you can take any object to the paint store and they can match it? Cool!). And I’m thinking of doing gray for the walls. I’m digging this one from cococozy.com. Except mine would be the opposite of course. Any thoughts? Is my bathroom too small for gray? Or would it be a nice contrast to all that (off)-white?

