Don’t forget- today is the last day to enter the giveaway!

OK so I know that I have an unfinished kitchen, and an unfinished bathroom, and a host of other unfinished things. But since it’s spring (is it spring, Utah, or not??) the yard has kind of pushed its way up on the list.

Without showing you a picture of the back yard, let me just illustrate how bad it is by telling you our method of figuring out what to do with it: googling “landscaping abandoned lot first steps”.

So let’s concentrate on the front for a while, shall we? First of all, I’ve known for a while that I wanted to try the whole Rip Your Strip thing (hmm, sounds like a painful cosmetic procedure). The point of Rip Your Strip is that Utah is, in fact, a desert, and we kinda use more than our fair share of water, most of which goes to watering lawns that really don’t belong here. Don’t get me wrong, I love a nice cool green lawn just as much as the next guy, and I don’t plan on getting rid of all my grass, but who needs lawn on their parking strip anyway? You’re telling me you’re going to go spread a towel out there and catch some rays in your bikini? I don’t think so.

In addition to being water (and money) conscious, I think “ripped strips” are truly beautiful if they’re done right. Check this baby out.

Found here

The stones, mulch and low, hearty ground cover make it so you can still park there and comfortably get out of your car, and the drought-tolerant grasses look pretty cool.

But it can go beyond the parking strip. Check out my “lush inspiration”, which happens to be Stan’s mom’s yard.

The front yard is full of drought-tolerant plants (that term doesn’t exactly make one picture a “lush” anything, but this yard looks pretty lush to me anyway). Grasses, lavender (which smells great too), various types of ground cover…

A cute little meandering stone creek bed…

And as you can see from this view, she still has a little front lawn too.

Upon entering the back yard, you notice right away the mossy flagstones. We’re going to have to figure out what that moss is, because you’d think a moss would require tons of water, but apparently this one doesn’t. The back fence is covered with English Ivy.

This picture is taken from the spacious patio. She’s since added an Adirondack chair on either side of the bird bath.

Here’s another shot of those mossy flagstones, and a bunch of Virginia Creeper by the garage.

This is the area on the side of the house. The part with the straw is the small vegetable garden. I like the idea of the cement block and pea gravel checkerboard. More English Ivy.

So there you have it. It’s actually a pretty small yard, but everything has its place and it’s a beauty to hang out in. Don’t ya love it?

She was kind enough to share some of her hearty drought-tolerant plants with me, so last weekend Stan and I headed up there to dig up some stuff. We ended up with two large orange leaf bags full of plants. We had to clear out some weeds and grass so we’d have somewhere to plant everything, and we’ll probably move it again, but for now they seem to be doing pretty well.

I can’t wait to finish my “ripped strip”, and then blog about it! Any thoughts on landscaping that’s different from just a plain ol’ lawn? Any anti-xeriscapers out there?

