Me. I’m the basket case.

When I was designing my kitchen, I was charmed by this idea for the bar:

Again, please excuse the picture of a picture in a book. I really liked the idea of having open compartments that hold baskets. If baskets become soooooo last year, I can just take them out and use the shelves. But to me, baskets are soooooo this year so I want some.

So here is a view from inside the kitchen. The baskets here would be accessible either from the kitchen or dining room. I envision a basket for potatoes and onions, and maybe one for dish towels, and one for whoknowswhat.

Here it is from the dining room. See? The baskets on the left hand side would be accessible from either room.

And here I’ve moved the bar stools so you can see. The baskets on the right hand side would probably hold placemats and table linens (if I had any) and maybe board games like Monopoly. Or Apples to Apples. Or Risk. (If I had any.)

But the above photo also showcases my problem. I need different-sized baskets that look the same! This is turning out to be more difficult than I thought it would be. You see, I have very specific dimensions, and I don’t know of any place that makes custom baskets. I googled and schmoogled, and really the only places I found were obscure places in rural USA and mostly England, and they charge about £39.99 per basket plus shipping. I need six baskets, so I’m not too keen on that price. But it seems like places like Michael’s and other craft stores are basically a crap shoot as far as specific sizes go- I don’t think it’s very often that someone designs a whole part of their kitchen around baskets that don’t even exist.

Can anyone help me? Am I overlooking Target’s “custom basketry” department or something else equally as simple and moderately priced?

Oh, and in case you are wondering, these are the dimensions I need.

7.5″ tall 15.5″ wide 16″ deep

7.5″ tall 20″ wide 16″ deep

