Yep, it’s true- I have a garden. This is what it looks like:

As a matter of fact, yes it is a Square Foot Garden- thanks for asking! But Mel would be disappointed, because I didn’t divide the square feet with anything (he usually recommends you do this with lathe, old blinds, or even twine; I know, I’m such a rebel).

In case you’re wondering, my garden contains tomatoes, zucchini, beans, basil, squash, lettuce, spinach, onions, chives, lavender, and a few other things I can’t remember.

My neighbors recently gave me a heap o soaker hoses, so I attempted to arrange them in a somewhat logical manner throughout the beds:

I stuck a few bricks here and there to try to weigh them down. But I suppose that doesn’t really matter right now, because I still need to go buy an 80′ hose to even reach all the way back there. Until then I’ll just keep hefting watering cans back there. BTW yard work is exercise, right? Is it sad for someone who’s run a marathon to ask that?

So where’s the anti-granola non-organic part of the post? Well sadly, some greedy little bugs decided that they loved my garden like I love a gourmet cupcake. These little buggers ate my new little sprouts with Augustus Gloopa-like ferocity.

Within one day, I observed some of my little shoots having the following conversation:

Now folks, I really tried to go the less-lazy more-organic route of manually picking off buys mid-bite- I really did. But I swear, I never even saw a single bug- not one. They must come out at night. So it was time to break out the big guns:

I’m not sure of the specifics on Sevin- how bad it is for you/the earth, long term effects on your soil, safety for animals, etc. But I do know that I was able to save some of my plants, and for that they owe me a squash. Or a cucumber. Or a big fat tomato with salt and pepper that I will eat like an apple.

Does anyone have any good tips for bug control?

