I looooove Japanese maples. So I bought some.

The view of the whole front yard still needs quite a bit of polishing, so I’m just going to show you the close-ups of my new baby trees.

First is this gorgeous little green laceleaf maple:

So named because its leaves are lacey.

This little guy will only get to be about 6-8 feet tall.

I also got a red one, but I can’t remember exactly the variety.

I love the twistyness of these trees, and how you can pretty much prune them how you want them. This guy will grow to be about 10-12 feet tall.

My mom has a childhood friend who works at J&L Garden Center in Bountiful, UT (I highly highly recommend this place if you live near SLC!) and she is amazing! Her name is Diane, and she will tell you which plants look good together, where they will grow, what kind of soil they need… and my trees come with a 1-year warranty. Yeah, I’ve pretty much sworn off the Home Depot garden center- do yourself a favor and find a good local nursery!

And remember these boxes that have been sitting empty (well okay, full of old paint samples and sprinklers) for months?

I finally bought something to go in them!

You’ll have to forgive me- I can’t think of what these grasses are called at the moment. And yes, I realize that I should have gotten a contrasting color, since they are against red brick. Doh! But I feel okay about it, because these gorgeous red grasses can always be transplanted to somewhere else in my yard, and I can replace them here with green.

And I’m sorry for my absence lately- my mom has been in town, and that is always a whirlwind. However, get excited, because she and I (and some other awesome people!) got quite a few projects done, and I’ll be sharing them here on the blog! Stay tuned…

And just for fun, let’s enjoy some pictures of Japanese maples, and dream about what mine will look like.

