Heh heh. Slip into something comfortable. Like a slipcover.

I was excited when CSN contacted me a while back to do a review. Yay for getting free (or almost free) stuff and then blogging about it! It was really pretty hard to choose what to get, but in the end I went with something kinda practical but that I probably wouldn’t be terribly likely to actually buy on my own. I chose a Surefit Cotton Duck slipcover for my lovely KSL (classifieds) couch. See, a while back my sweet dog Misty kind of puked on my couch. A few times. I know, I know, gross. I scrubbed and scrubbed, and while I’m confident that I have thoroughly disinfected all the puke germs, there were a couple spots that just would. not. come. out. Maybe a normal person would be too grossed out to keep the couch, but then again, maybe normal people have a lot more money than I do.

Anyway, the point of the post is that I ordered a slipcover from CSN, it came in the mail, I put it on, and Iloveit.

Here is my naked couch:

And here is my couch in its new outfit:

“Maybe we should toss it in the dryer to get some of those wrinkles out.”

Yeah, that sentence never actually translated into reality.

I was tempted to review it that same day, but I realized that I should actually live with it for a week or so first. So here it is a week later:

Now for the nitty gritty.

The slipcover:

  • The color on the website was slightly misleading- it looks WHITE. In reality, it’s off-white and you can see some slightly darker fibers. I like it better than bleach white anyhow.
  • I’ve adjusted it once in a week, but that was just for the picture. It stays in place pretty well.
  • I put my feet on it, and it doesn’t attract dirt more than normal any other couch.
  • I have not washed it yet, so I’m unable to comment on how it holds up.
  • It has that slightly slouchy look, which is fine with me. I think it makes the couch look more comfy and inviting. However, if I were more concerned with it looking crisp and wrinkle-free, I think I could achieve that as well.
  • I would recommend slipcovers to anyone with furniture that has good bones but may have ugly upholstery. For under $100 you can basically get a “new” couch and loveseat.

CSN:

  • Very simple ordering, good discounts, and free shipping on lots of stuff.
  • It was delivered to the wrong house (just 2 doors down) but I’m not sure if that was their error or mine. Probably mine, because the label had the wrong address on it. Oops.
  • No real complaints!

Thanks again CSN!

