A house tour update has been a looooong time coming. There hasn’t been any significant progress in either of the bedrooms, but I looked at my Tour page the other day and was cringing at the pictures of the living room, kitchen, and bathroom. Though they are an improvement since the pictures from Day 1, those rooms are looking much better now. And let’s be honest- my house is never all camera-ready all at the same time, so I’ll just do it in increments. I have approximately one million billion finishing touches to complete, but I’m just going to look right into the face of fear and post the updated pics anyway in all their imperfect glory. You can find my updates below, but to find a couple more “along the way” photos, feel free to click “Tour” at the top of the page.

View from front door

Day 1

11 months later

Living room

Day 1

11 months later

Kitchen

Day 1

11 months later

Bathroom

Day 1

11 months later

Other side Day 1

11 months later

What a long, strange trip it’s been. I feel a little guilty for not being even further along (as I type the basement still reeks of crackheads and dogs, and the back yard makes me want to cry). And amazingly I’m not just fishing for compliments, although those never hurt anyone either. šŸ™‚

I’ve learned a lot about myself through this process: I’ve learned that sometimes I have to depend on others, because they know more than I do (hard to believe, I know). But I’ve also learned that I am capable of more than I thought I was. Crazy Jonny’s “get shit done” attitude has been surprisingly enlightening, and Stan’s methodical thoroughness has driven me insane at times but also kept me grounded (and probably safe). I didn’t mean for this to turn into an emotional Miss America thank-you-speech style post, but damn it, it makes me want to cry thinking about all the help and encouragement I’ve gotten along the way. I’ve been pissed off enough to storm off and go trouncing through the neighborhood at 1am mid-kitchen-remodel, and I’ve shed more than a few tears on this ol’ dump of a house, but in the end I would reluctantly say that yes, it’s worth it. And thank you all so much for following me along while I blog about it. Every time I get a comment you’d think the Easter bunny visited, for crying out loud. So keep ’em coming, and let’s see what the next 11 months brings!

