Wow, guys. I’ve been reading so many other blogs, and they keep posting about their 1-year, or 2 or 3 or 4 or 5 year blogiversaries. I’ve been meaning to check when my first post was, but then I figured that I just missed it so maybe I’d do like an 18-monthiversary or something like that. Imagine my surprise when I realized that not only did I not miss it, but it’s TODAY! (Okay, I’m writing this yesterday, but whatever). Also, technically my first post was the generic Hello World post that WordPress gives you (which contains some comments from confused family members that made me chuckle), but I won’t count that. Yes peeps, on this day a year ago, I wrote my first lengthy post about buying my house. Ahh the memories. I was so gung-ho back then. I would talk anyone’s ear off about buying a new house, the tax credit, you name it. I’m still fired up, but also glad that a lot of the heavy lifting is behind me, and I’m hopefully less annoying now that the house chatter has calmed down a bit.

It’s pretty amazing that less than a year ago I was bathing in this:

And eating things like this for dinner:

Because I was too scared to cook anything on the germy this:

Sometimes I feel pretty inferior next to some of you other bloggers out there. Your houses look magazine-perfect and your photography is flawless! But then I realize, Hey- I’m pretty kickass myself. I ran a marathon among all this madness. I fostered a dog, then adopted one. I’m a single lady who pays for all this crap myself. Sure I get lots of help- but that just means I know how to surround myself with nice people! (Okay, I can’t take all the credit for that one- some of them are my family and it’s in their contract to help me.) I feed myself. I get myself up and dressed (teeth brushed and everything!) and go to a full-time job every day. I make delicious cakes that I find from really cool food blogs. I have awesome friends. I try new stuff. I go camping. I even started reading books again!

Sorry for boasting. You can usually find me self-depreciating on this blog, so I thought it would be a nice change of pace.

If you want to get to know me better you can check out ten things I like and if you really want to get to know me better you can check out 100 things about me. You can also see some of my cheesy aspirations here, and of course tour my house here.

Thank you so much for reading and commenting- blogging and reading all of your awesome blogs really is a favorite part of my day! Here’s to the next year!

