Last night I was walking Blanche, and I had my camera intending to take pictures of the eclectic mix of houses around my neighborhood. There are some pretty over-the-top Halloween displays (amazingly I don’t think I’ve seen any blow-up thingies this year!), but one stopped me dead in my tracks.

You guys, there are “spooky fun oh-i-love-the-kooky-skeleton” displays…

… and there are displays that will haunt…your…dreams.

Cue Psycho music

What’s going on? On the left we have an assortment of creepiness seated on a plastic yard bench… on the right is a cooler labeled “Toys” and a light pole wrapped in … wedding tulle?

The center of the yard seems to feature a bizarro-world Alice in Wonderland scene, complete with a stumpy gray man serving a pink teapot and what appears to be Wal-Mart tent circa 1986 being used as a tablecloth.

Now that I’ve written this whole dramatic post, I realize that I may be over-exaggerating the creep factor. Maybe it’s because I’m blonde and therefore my brain keeps transcribing my face over that little Alice doll’s. Maybe it’s because Alice in Wonderland scared the poop out of me when I was a kid. Maybe it’s because I’m afraid of my own amusement at such a display going on just a couple blocks from my house. Or maybe it really is scary as hell.

What do you guys think? Am I overreacting or will you be joining me in my nightmares tonight?

