I can’t seem to get enough of them, can I?

Way back when, I got a bunch of starts from Stan’s mom. We kinda needed a semi-permanent place to put them, so we dug up a sizable bed in the front and planted them there.

We also had to remove the old walkway- you know, the one made from indoor slate tiles.

But throughout the summer, I realized that I did in fact need a walkway from the stairs to the driveway. So I got some flagstones (which ended up being kind of a dumb decision, because even after making the pathway in the back yard, I still have a buttload of pavers leftover- oh well).

This is what I made:

Then I decided that the bed with the plants in it was too big (didn’t match the one on the other side of the stairs) and that the flagstones should have grass growing in them, so I planted some grass and made the bed smaller. The grass is starting to come up.

I seem to do that a lot- do a chore, then go back and reverse what I already did. Dig out grass for plants, then transplant those plants and plant more grass.

I’m still not totally happy with it- I think it needs to be wider, and I think the rocks are buried too deep for grass to grow in between without getting trampled too close to the root. But since it’s already winter in Salt Lake, this project will have to wait until spring for me to unleash my craziness on it.

