Let’s say that theoretically, someone who has named her blog something along the lines of “Cool Home Chick” or “Chic Abode Female” or “Trendy Dwelling Bird” or… “Hip House Girl”… suddenly finds herself in a position of engagement? Does she change the name of her blog? “Hip House Girl and Boy”? “Hip House Woman and Man”? (eek… grown up.) “Hip House Couple”? Oh and did I say theoretically? Because I meant empirically.

That’s right folks, Stanley and I are engaged! This hard-workin’ geologist has finally (I kid… sort of :-)) given me a ring, and we’re going to make this thing a whole lot easier and have him join the family- the one that currently includes me, Jesse the cat, Blanche the dog, and the house. It’s been a crazy weekend, but I’m so happy to know that this guy is going to be by my side for the long haul.

Things I love about this guy:

  • He works hard at everything he does.
  • He does nice little things for me, like put toothpaste on my toothbrush (he sets it down in the bathroom and I’ll discover it later).
  • He makes awesome food.
  • He gets me thoughtful things, like cool plants from Cactus & Tropical (which I promptly kill, so he has kind of stopped doing this one) and an antique grate to put over the ugly hole in the kitchen (and then he makes it look nice and hangs it up and even cleans up the mess)
  • He makes me laugh hardcore.
  • He laughs at my jokes (this gives me self-confidence to make even more stupid jokes, which fuels the vicious cycle).
  • He looooooooves the kitty. Seriously, sometimes it’s a little weird.
  • He is a really good teacher. When I was flailing wildly through O-Chem, he kept me on track and really helped me understand it (and I got an A: just had to throw that in there)
  • He is really cute with my nieces and nephews.
  • He holds me accountable for things- house projects, school, etc- without making me feel like he’s my dad.
  • He thinks I’m smart. And pretty. And funny. And great. And awesome. And talented. And fun. And and and (oh… this list isn’t about me?)
  • He picked out a really thoughtful ring for me. I knew I didn’t want prongs because I hate jewelry that catches on things, and he researched the crap out of stones to get. He knew I didn’t want a diamond, so he picked a beautiful sapphire. I was really impressed that he spent time analyzing the cuts and clarity and angles and stuff, instead of just going “How many carats ya want?” (Not that there’s anything wrong with asking how many carats…”)
  • He inspires me to be a better person.
  • We share similar views on a lot of stuff that I won’t bore you with
  • He helps make the world a better place
  • Some more stuff that I can’t put into words
  • He’s pretty good lookin’.

Sorry, I don’t have any pictures for you guys yet. I’m at my sister’s house in Houston, and I wanted to post this before I get back home in 5 days. I’ll put up some pictures then. And don’t worry, this is NOT going to turn into a wedding blog. I am almost as clueless about weddings as Stan is, so I’ll be lucky if I successfully buy a dress. Okay that’s a bit of an exaggeration. Oh and we don’t have a date picked yet, but I’ll keep you posted!

