Remember when I posted this picture of my new workshop, and told you I would tell you more about the whole kitchen’s worth of cabinets I got for free? Well thank your lucky stars, today is your day.

These are the same cabinets before Kristin went a little overboard with the Mexican theme and painted them bright orange:

They were original to her 1985 townhouse, so when she had the opportunity to get all new cabinets, she took it. (And her kitchen looks awesome! If only she would update her blog…) In exchange for our labor of removing these old ones, she let Stan and I take them for free. Wahooo!! They’re nothing fancy, that’s for sure- and 25 years old, but they’re sturdy and solid and we have a few ideas for them.

Idea #1

Finish the basement into a little apartment to rent out and use these in the kitchen. I think I could add some trim just like Daniel did to his bathroom vanity, slap a couple coats of white paint on them, and these babies would be lookin’ mighty fine.

Idea #2

Build a new garage and use these in it. Old (free) cabinets are awesome as storage/workbenches in a garage and these ones are sturdy enough to do the trick.

The fate of the cabinets probably relies mostly on what we put at the top of our priority list. A basement apartment would be nice because that’s an income generator. (Both of my brothers have done this with their “starter” homes and it’s worked out well for them. And yes there would be a separate entrance. I put the laundry room in a spot where it could be shared with the basement and the upstairs. If we needed more space in a few years, it would be easy enough to take the cabinets out and convert the kitchen space back into a living space- same goes for future buyers.) But a new garage would be awesome as well- a place to park a car out of the snowy weather! An awesome workshop!

Both would add to the value of the home, but I’m thinking the basement may be the smarter financial move. I’ll just put this on the “dream” list, and meanwhile the cabinets have a good life hangin’ out in the basement.

