Food. One of the BIG 3 in the trifecta of things that make your wedding budget skyrocket- along with venue and photographer. But it’s important, right? People are flying (and driving) in from miles and miles away to wish us well on our big day, so I feel like the least I can do is offer to fill their bellies with deliciousness.

However. The budget has already crept up higher than we’d originally planned (we’ll be okay, don’t worry), so we need to keep the cost minimal. Our wedding can’t start until 7pm since Cactus and Tropicals is first and foremost a store that doesn’t close until 6pm. So for a while I was thinking that by the time the reception started at 7:30 or 7:45 or so, that was late enough to just do hors d’oeuvres. And we’re still kind of going back and forth on this. They cost less than a full meal, of course (even with fancier ones from a few Italian import stores around here), but I really kinda really want to be able to feed people dinner.

So the other main option we’ve been considering is to get a local favorite, Cafe Rio, to do the catering for us. They offer a taco package (two tacos per person with handmade tortillas, rice, beans, chips and salsa, salad, and two different desserts) for $8.95 per person. You can add another $2 per person if you want them to come and serve the food (plus they do a little bit nicer setup- look at their photos to see how nice they can make food look!). That’s $11 per person. I’ve done enough corporate events to know that that is darn cheap as far as catering goes. Sure, it’s not gourmet, but I promise you that Cafe Rio is a restaurant that visiting out-of-towners make a point of hitting up, and people who have left Utah post dramatic facebook statuses about how much they miss it. It’s true, I’ve seen it (lookin’ at you, Becca :)).

So… $11 per person is pretty much our price limit. (Or if we can round up willing servers, it could be as low as $9 per person… I’m still not sure how I feel about that though.)

What do you guys think?

Option A- Hors d’oeuvres

Pros: Less expensive, might be a little fancier/gourmet

Cons: Not as filling

 

 

 

Option B- Taco bar

Pros: a local restaurant that most people I know love, more filling

Cons: More expensive, less fancy- a more low-key vibe (although that’s actually probably a Pro, since we’re having a greenhouse/garden wedding)

There are probably more pros and cons to each option, but I’m too lazy to think of them right now. I’m leaning toward Rio, because I want people to leave the wedding full and fighting over leftovers, if there are any. Plus it’s “fun”. Yeah, I referred to food as “fun”.

But as always, I’m more than willing to take your suggestions!

Oh and also, we’re currently in the process of stocking up on glass-bottled sodas to serve in a tub full of ice, a la Young House Love (and my cousin’s lovely backyard wedding last year). I think their tip to kick the cans and stick to glass only is an easy way to keep the class factor at a reasonably high level.

Click image for source

Cuuuuuute!

And now, to reward you for putting up with my wedding nonsense, here are some ridiculous pictures of Blanche.

(Click to enlarge- you won’t regret it.)

