A few years ago, I bought  a piano from the DI (DI=Utah version of Goodwill). It was $100.

Jonny convinced me to buy it since it was cheap and the keys worked (kind of a rare thing in DI pianos).

He has a painting company (creatively named Moore Brothers Painting) and he thought he’d tackle a painting project outside his normal realm of interior/exterior paint jobs.

Faithful Moore Brothers Painting employee Tyler helped him out.

He sprayed on an oil-based gloss paint, which he said was a royal pain in the butt to work with. Then he put on gloss varnish. Are you ready for this?

GOR-GEOUS!! His blog is here. He’s better at documenting weird things he does with dune buggies and old cars and stuff than all the cool house projects he does, but it’s still totally worth your time to check it out, especially if you’d like a glimpse into one of the most creatively genius minds I’ve ever known in my life. Maybe that’s sister-bias… whatev.

It currently lives at his house, and unfortunately he’s probably going to get rid of it because, and I quote, ” It’s too big of an object to have just so people can play ‘Heart and Soul’ every time they come over.” (he doesn’t really play). Sadly, I don’t really have room for a full-size piano in my 816 square feet either. Oh well, someone else would probably get a lot of enjoyment out of it.

Jonny, feel free to expound on the process and/or correct anything I said.

PS- Don’t forget to enter the giveaway– it ends at 5pm MST today!
