These are PROTOTYPES. Yes, I know they look like crap. But I’m going to share anyway.

Here’s the first one I made:

All I had at the moment was a rubber band for the string. It would obviously be much classier than this.

It was inspired by this birthday card that Jessica made:

But I don’t have the patience to do more than one bunting string for ~200 invitations.

Here’s the inside:

So you can see the little bunting thing to the left. Then we’d print the map on the back of it.

The second one I mocked up very quickly, and then photoshopped some flowers on it.

First let’s address the elephant in the room that I don’t know how to make an ampersand. Stan informed me that it’s a backwards cursive “S”, not a forward one. Now I know!

That yellow piece of paper would be a yellow piece of fabric, and then I’d sew around that and the vellum paper (that clear paper). Yes, sew. I’ve seen lots of cute sewn cards and such, and with a machine I really don’t think it would be that hard. If I’m going to just print the cards, I kinda want to do something to kick it up a notch. Stan seems to think we can just hand-embellish them with gel pens. We’ll see how far we make it doing that.

I do kind of like the idea of not all of them being the same.

Oh and here it is in the too-big bright yellow envelope:

Yep, lots of yellow!

These might be too cutesy for a lot of you, but we’re really going for a casual vibe here and I like the handmade look. Plus, they will look a lot less “crafty” when we actually spend some time making them look good.

If you want to see some more of where I got my inspiration, check out my wedding board on Pinterest.

Oh and yes, it’s going to cost a lot less to DIY these babies. For 200 invitations, I’m looking at anywhere from $350-500 to order them. I’m not sure yet because I haven’t decided which ones to make and bought the materials and checked out printing costs, but I’m estimating that we can make these from $100-150. I’ll let you know!

