Hello! I’ve been busy. Some things on my plate:

  • We bought all the supplies to make our invitations (so far we’re at $89, so I think it’s safe to say we’ll save some $$ even though I might have to pay for hair implants after I pull my hair out making them).
  • Still training for the half-marathon (less than two weeks away) and annoying everyone with my updates about running

  • TRYING to decide on a honeymoon…
  • Trying to find someone to marry us
  • Planning a surprise party for my brother (yes, the one who comments about diarrhea on my facebook status). This was actually a bigger project than I thought it would be. I made it a “redneck/white trash/buttrock (heavy metal)” theme, which I then realized was a bit too loose of a theme. But we had a wide range of awesome costumes! We told him we were going to Lone Star, which was cracking me up all week, because he doesn’t even like Lone Star. He was being a good sport about going there, though. Then when he came to “pick me up”, my house was full of people! And he said “Are we still going to Lone Star?” LOL. I was like “Uh, no Jonny, we’re grilling burgers and having a fire in the driveway and playing air hockey and eating this cake which I painstakingly made in the shape of an accordion so you better like it.”

See that sign back there with the gun? It says "Nevermind the dog. Beware of owner." and was a gift from Jonny. I "haven't gotten around to" hanging it up outside... because I totally plan to. Totally. 😀

I wish I had a better picture, because it was awesome. I made the shape, but Stan decorated it. The back of it had Reese’s pieces buttons. It was especially difficult because I chose a cake that I knew would be delicious, complete with peanut butter filling, rather than one that was stiff and easy to work with, so it was really crumbly and soft. But delicious it was. Oh and the black keys are Kit-Kats. I seriously love my bro. We’re like, BFFs. That’s why I made him this cake. He’s playing the accordion at our wedding.

  • We spent over half of Saturday getting engagement pictures taken (yep, a little late on that one). My dear, dear friend Ingrid did them, and despite our squinting and extreme awkwardness, she managed to get quite a few good ones.  I’ll probably share them here tomorrow.
  • Then we helped my friend Carrie move into her awesome new apartment! It’s in an old mansion so it’s oozing character, and she has a balcony with an sweet view of downtown Salt Lake! I’m going to make some grow boxes for her to put on her balcony, and I’ll try to blog about it. I’m open to tips on such a project…

So yeah, we’ve been busy. As always, the house projects loom, but I’m okay with the rest of life taking charge for a bit. And thank you all so so much for your lovely comments and opinions on the invitations, etc. I love it.

