You guys. I did it AGAIN. I keep posting Wedding Wednesday posts on Thursdays! Do I have Wedding brain or what??

I work four ten-hour days and have Fridays off. This morning, I was going through things I did yesterday… and I got to thinking about my Wedding Wednesday post. I suddenly had a freak-out moment and thought, “Am I supposed to be at work??? If I posted Wedding Wedneday yesterday, then today is Thursday and I’m supposed to be at work!!” But then I realized that no, today IS Friday- I just mixed up Wednesday and Thursday. AGAIN.

In more exciting news, I read a book and below is my review. Be my friend on Goodreads!

Into Thin Air: A Personal Account of the Mt. Everest Disaster

Into Thin Air: A Personal Account of the Mt. Everest Disaster by Jon Krakauer
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I don’t know what it is about Jon Krakauer’s writing. It sucks me in, even though it’s not very sensational or attention-grabbing in a flashy way. When I started Into the Wild years ago, it was for a class and I expected it to be a boring survival book. I was so wrong. That book changed my life and way of thinking, and I think that credit must go not just to Alexander Supertramp, but also to the way Krakauer wrote about him.

Even though I loved Into the Wild, I still went into Into Thin Air again thinking it would be a “boring survival book”. I was totally wrong again. He gives such an emotionally distant, almost dry account of the 1996 events on Everest- yet it really is thrilling to read. And every once in a while he’ll throw in a curveball sentence, like “Such and such decision will probably haunt me for the rest of my life.”- and you believe him when he says it because he chooses sentences like that carefully.

There are a lot of characters that can be hard to keep track of, but I liked the book so much that I’ve already found myself going back through putting together who is who, and heck- I’ll probably just end up reading the whole thing again. I’ve also had Everest-mania since finishing the book and have been looking up all kinds of stuff online about it. (This reminds me of how I was after Into the Wild, too…)

My point is, even if you aren’t that thrilled by adventure, mountain climbing, survival, etc books, this is a good one.

View all my reviews

