It’s been over a year since I blogged last?? <hangs head in shame>

If anyone is still out there, I’ll just give you a quick update on some happenings around these parts.

I guess I’ll start with The Big One: we’re having a baby! Pretty soon! Sorry I didn’t tell you earlier. Don’t be mad, ok?

Here I am waddling, probably in pursuit of something sweet and fried.

Image

I’m due June 11, which puts me at 33w 4d right now. Needless to say, we’re super excited and grateful and happy, and a little nervous. But mostly happy and grateful. Last year I miscarried, which was really hard, and I’ll probably write more about that at some point. It’s an experience that has heightened my gratitude for our current situation, but has also contributed to my worrying about every little thing. Kudos to Stan and my friends and family for helping me through my worst worry-wort days (I’m 21 weeks and haven’t felt the baby move in 4 hours – aaaahhh! I ate some potato salad at that barbecue – aaaaaahhhH!!!) My favorite has been my co-worker calling me a silly sausage. She was right.

The nursery will be a pretty simple affair, but I’ll show you some pics in due time.

On to other goings-on, we recently had a most amazing visit from my sister, her husband, and their four kids (and one on the way!!)!

BUT THERE’S MORE.

These jokesters also surprised me by bringing my brother and my 89 year-old grandpa!

It was all too much, and you can see the tears that just would not stop.

Image

It’s not often you get a surprise like that in your life. (My co-worker said, “It’s a good thing you didn’t have the baby then and there!”) Also, whose 89 year-old grandpa is willing to travel for 26 hours straight to see them?? MINE. He’s incredible. And it was super cool to get to hang out with my bro, too. I miss doof-laughing with him.

Image

The trip flew by way too fast, and I put on a real show at the airport watching them leave. Just ask Stan and his tear/snot soaked shirt.

Here are some highlights:

Image

The kids looking super impressed at seeing a koala

Image

Getting up close with kangaroos

Image

And “koala-bees” (wallabies)

Image

Pure joy at the beach

Image

Tween modelling

Image

Picking strawberries

Image

And turning them into a marvellous creation

Image

Looking cool in Aussie hats

 

Image

Boogie boarding epically

Taking lots of pics

Taking lots of pics

Image

Baby shower

Image

Finding what the Easter bunny left

Image

Cuddles with Grandpa

More beach time

More beach time

 

Sister time

Sister time

Sister time

Sister time

And lots of eating and hanging out!

An early morning at the airport

An early morning at the airport. Those faces sum up how I felt about them leaving.

Miss these guys already.

What have YOU been up to?

