As I mentioned before, I receive lots of advice.  I admit that I tune some of it out, but most of the time I’m very glad to hear feedback and suggestions. And sometimes I even solicit it. In fact, here’s a picture of me doing just that. While I eat dinner on my bed.

IMG_7458

That's Stephen Colbert's Americone Dream, in case you were wondering.

I think this was when I realized the tile window frame problem I found.

Here are some examples of very, very wise words of wisdom.

Kami and Roy: You need to live like no one else now (in squalor and sawdust?), so you can live like no one else later (like royalty I presume).

Jonny: Amanda, your tile job is not going to look professional. You’re not a professional, just get it done and deal with it. No one’s going to notice unless they sit there and stare at it.

Matt: Fill out those forms so you can get your 8 grand! Nag nag nag! (Love ya Matt!)

Dad: When I was your age I didn’t know how to do any of that stuff either. But then I realized, Hey, I have a college degree. Surely I can figure this out?

Tommie, my realtor, whose gorgeous house I had the privilege of housesitting while she went on vacation: Well I don’t have a direct quote, but basically she inspires me- when they first bought their house it looked nothing like it does now. They did a lot of the initial work themselves, and then as they got older and more financially able, they hired it done professionally. This is how I have to think of my own house- I can live with my sub-par tile job/glass block window/various other things I’ve done myself for now, then when I’ve earned it, I can hire a professional to make it look real nice.

Sherry and John of younghouselove.com: Live in a space for a while before making major changes- it’s the best way to figure out what you really want, even if it means living in a less-than-perfect house for a while first.

Mary at work: You stand on the shoulders of women who have fought hard for equality in the area of finance. Your grandmother had to have a male sign for any financial arrangement she made. She could not have bought a car, a home or a piece of land on her own. Your mother, when she was born, could not have either, though that changed as she older, though banks were not fully engaged and often required people to be married etc., My mom was widowed when we were young and we had to move. They required a signature from her brother to buy the house. Always be aware. Always be grateful.

Mom: Take one day at a time!

There has been more, but right now it’s tucked away in the recesses of my brain, to be retrieved at a time of great despair, surely.

Now, anyone have any advice on how to help my poor hands?

What am I, a man??

What am I, a man??

Or any other advice in general?